Keywords |
  • Universe


EUMETSAT is an intergovernmental organisation in charge of setting up and running operational meteorological satellite systems, so far including18 European States (Germany, Austria, Belgium, Denmark, Spain, Finland, France, Greece, Ireland, Italy, Luxembourg, Norway, the Netherlands, Portugal, the UK, Sweden, Switzerland and Turkey). EUMETSAT has signed 12 agreements with cooperating States. Those with Bulgaria, Croatia, Hungary, Estonia, Lithuania, Poland, Romania, Slovakia, Slovenia and the Czech republic have come into effect, while the agreements with Serbia & Montenegro and Iceland are still to be ratified.

EUMETSAT currently operates Meteosat-6, 7 and 8 over Europe and Africa, and Meteosat-5 over the Indian Ocean.

The EUMETSAT satellite data, products and services are a vital contribution to weather forecasting and for the operational monitoring of the climate and climate change on a global scale.


Fill out my online form.